[Ip-health] Webinar: Access Barriers to Covid-19 Therapeutics & Diagnostics: A Case for TRIPS Waiver

Sangeeta Shashikant sangeeta at twnetwork.org
Tue Oct 5 08:48:15 PDT 2021


Access Barriers to Covid-19 Therapeutics & Diagnostics: A Case for TRIPS Waiver
 
Date: 6th October
Time: 2pm CEST (9 AM Rio/ 2 PM Cape Town/ 5.30 PM New Delhi/ 8 PM Kuala Lumpur)
Kindly register at: https://bit.ly/2Y5rw6W
 
Therapeutics are crucial for an effective pandemic response, especially since current vaccines do not offer effective protection against the Covid-19 infection. WHO has approved two IL-6 blockers (tocilizumab and sarilumab) and neutralising monoclonal antibody (casirivimab and imdevimab) as Covid-19 treatment. There are major concerns about the timely availability and affordability of these treatments in many parts of the world, especially in developing countries. Several other anti-viral therapeutics and inhibitors of Janus kinases (JAK) are at an advanced stage of development. But there is no guarantee that these will be available at an affordable cost. Diagnostics also constitute a critical pillar in the fight against Covid-19. However affordable and accurate diagnostic kits still remain elusive. 
 
People’s Health Movement and the Third World Network are organising this webinar to highlight the role of therapeutics and diagnostics in containing Covid-19, barriers in accessing them, and the potential of TRIPS Waiver to achieving equitable access.  
 
Speakers:
Michelle Childs, Director-Policy Advocacy, Drugs for Neglected Diseases initiative – DNDi

Christa Cepuch, Pharmacist Coordinator, MSF Access Campaign

Reshma Ramachandran, Physician-Fellow, Yale National Clinician Scholars Program

Chair:
Jyotsna Singh, People's Health Movement  (PHM)
 






More information about the Ip-health mailing list