[Ip-health] Invitation: Webinar 21 October - Another Triumph of Science, But Defeat For Access? Ensuring innovation and equitable access for COVID-19 treatments and other pandemics

Rachael Crockett rcrockett at dndi.org
Fri Oct 8 08:44:05 PDT 2021



ANOTHER TRIUMPH OF SCIENCE, BUT DEFEAT FOR ACCESS?

Ensuring innovation and equitable access for COVID-19 treatments and other pandemics



The Drugs for Neglected Diseases initiative (DNDi) invite you to join a one-hour webinar on the urgent need for innovation of and equitable access to COVID-19 therapeutics.



Thursday, 21 October at 8:00 New York / 14:00 Geneva / 15:00 Nairobi / 17:30 New Delhi



In the face of global vaccine inequity, the need for treatments at all stages of COVID-19 is more pronounced than ever. Yet research and development (R&D) of therapeutics has been relatively neglected in the global response to COVID-19 - and the few treatment innovations that do exist have been principally available in high-income countries. There is some recent good news on the therapeutic front, with the possible approval in the coming weeks and months of several new antiviral treatments. But without urgent course correction, the very same challenges that have stymied equitable access to vaccines may also hinder availability, affordability, and equitable access to these treatments. How can we best address both the promise and pitfalls of the past year and half when it comes to treatments for COVID-19? How can these lessons help shape the pandemic preparedness and response architecture that is emerging?



Please join us for this critically important conversation featuring the following speakers:



Moderator: Dr Boghuma Kabisen Titanji, Infectious Disease Fellow, Emory University School of Medicine and Academic Editor, PLOS Global Public Health



Speakers:

* Dr Ayoade Alakija, Co-Chair, African Union Vaccine Delivery Alliance

* Ms Loyce Pace, MPH, Director, Office of Global Affairs, US Department of Health and Human Services

* Dr Marie-Paule Kieny, Chair, DNDi Board of Directors



REGISTER HERE:  https://us06web.zoom.us/webinar/register/5716336105182/WN_p0TVrzHQTFG7diIxtuIwUQ?utm_source=DNDi&utm_campaign=22dc285fc7-India-webinar_COPY_04&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_4c3dd201d2-22dc285fc7-






More information about the Ip-health mailing list